Qreview! Psycroptic – The Inherited Repression

This is going to be quick as I don’t have much to say about the album. Psycroptic’s latest album “The Inherited Repression” is a phenomenal album musically and the songs are fun to listen to at the time. I acknowledge how talented these musicians are and how hard they have worked on this album. I get into it and headbang a little while listening to The Inherited Repression, the album as a whole really never captured my interest though, no matter how many times I listened to the album. It is truly great but highly forgettable. The creativity is there, the vocals aren’t  all bad (however I do not care for them) and the songs are heavy and rockin….it just loses me each and every time. It’s like some weird thing where I enjoy the album some while I am listening to it….but I have no desire to want to listen to it again.

I got the same thing while listening to the new Machine Head and the latest Divine Heresy albums, decent music but I just do not give a shit. I wanted to put this away and listen to something else. So, while the music is genuinely good, I just don’t think this is a good album. Nothing captured my interest, no riff got stuck in my head, no lyrics worth repeating, no leads made me rewind and listen to it again. Time after time I forced myself to listen to this album just to give it ANOTHER chance. I desperately wanted to find something great and like the album…I was let down every time.

I highly suggest listening to this album once. At least to enjoy the music, the vocals aren’t really worth a damn. Vocal range is boring and not impressive at all.

Pros: Music is good, really good.

Cons: Vocals are boring. Music never stuck with me, nothing catchy.

2 out of 5

One thought on “Qreview! Psycroptic – The Inherited Repression

  1. dude this is EXACTLY how i see the album too!!! Scepter of the Ancients is an awesome album though, if anyone haven’t heard that one i highly recommend it…more techy, more catchy, much better and diverse vox, etc…

Leave a Reply

