Shards of Love: A Tribute to David Gold (Woods of Ypres) Is An Amazing Read.

Rae Amitay from Metal Review wrote out this amazing blog post about David Gold, his legacy and the people he knew. Band mates express their feelings and thoughts and it’s just an extremely touching and emotional article. Here is just a small sample from the post, click here to read the rest. I highly recommend reading this.

On November 27th, David Gold gave me the opportunity of a lifetime. I’d responded to his announcement about needing a new drummer for Woods of Ypres, and after a few days of discussing my commitment, ability, and willingness to relocate to Canada, David offered me the position with open arms and incredible enthusiasm. Over the course of the next few weeks, I learned to play Woods 5: Grey Skies & Electric Light as I continued to build my friendship with David and prepare for our upcoming shows in the UK. Upon hearing the album for the first time, I knew it was David’s masterpiece, and the most stunning Woods album to date.  I am eternally grateful that I was able to tell him how much I loved his music. For nearly a month, I lived and breathed that record. When I wasn’t playing through it, I was listening to it, always moved by David’s sorrowful voice and beautiful songwriting. Although today marked the first time I’ve been able to listen to Woods 5 since his passing, the songs never stopped running through my head. It hurts me so much that I will never be able to perform these songs with him.

RIP David Gold, I never got the chance to tell you how much I enjoy the album but I love it. Thank you for everything. Check out the review for Woods V: Grey Skies and Electric Light here.

Leave a Reply

