Qreview! Whitechapel – Recorrupted

Luckily, I won this EP through a contest Metal Blade was doing on twitter, FREE WHITECHAPEL CD!!! That won’t mean I automatically throw a 5 out of 5 on it, because it’s not. Whitechapel created one original, did one cover, allowed two remixes and did an acoustic version of one of their old songs. Sounds like the potential to fill everyone’s needs, but sadly not mine. The Tennessee titans came together and spawned one hell of an original track, Section 8 is fucking awesome. I’ve had this track stuck in my head for over a week now. The single itself is the best part of the album. Whitechapel continue to prove that they are a force to be reckoned with. Their song writing gets better and better with each effort they release. The next track is a great cover of Pantera‘s “Strength Beyond Strength”. I never would have expected this band to have covered a song such as this but they nail it and it’s so fitting. Phil Bozeman does a great job on the vocals (of course) and the band adds their own touch to the classic thrash song.

The rest of the album is mediocre. I do not care for remixes at all and dubstep versions make it worse. I love me some electronic music but this whole WUBWUBBOOM dubstep movement I just cannot get into. Of course we get a remix from Big C, the usual deathcore/metalcore into dub guy. Then we have a song remixed by Ben Weinman which is worse. Once all of that mess is over, the band covers their song “End of Flesh” acoustically and sometimes I get lost while listening to the track. It’s odd to hear a deathcore song, a song which is supposed to be nothing but brutal, being played on the ol grandpa guitar. It’s done well and it’s nice to hear a different approach on the song but after a couple of listens, I had my fair share of it.

Section 8 is the reason why I love this EP. However, one song (no matter how kick ass it may be) can not carry the entire cd.

2.5 out of 5

Fav Track: Section 8

Leave a Reply

