Qreview! Rwake – Rest

Rwake‘s album Rest is something dark and eerie. I cannot place them into a specific genre and I cannot explain how they sound compared to anyone else…Rwake make some interestingly dark tunes though. I would say they are sludge, with a hint of doom and add some post-black metal and drone ambience, it’s weird trying to explain this music but I just get it. The notes hit me like a ton of bricks, triggering all types of different emotions. Vocals are gnarly as fuck, I had to get use to them at first but they are definitely fitting with the music. The vocals do well, however the music is really the treat here. They could do an instrumental album and it would be completely mindblowing.

Rwake has only 6 songs, two of them being super short…an intro and a little intermission in between tracks. The music you get is mainly from 4 songs. However, these four songs are really long. The shortest track out of the four is still 8:45 long. The wonderful thing about Rwake is how they keep you interested and groovin. I never get bored and a riff never gets dull. These guys can write some great tunes. One of my favorite tracks on the album is the song “The Culling” and it’s got one hell of a beginning to it. The vocals do not even kick in until nearly seven minutes into it, which fucking rules. The opening riff for “Was Only A Dream” is soooooooo goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood. God I could listen to that introduction itself over and over all day.

I truly have no negative things about this album. If I wanted to be a nit picky douche bag I could ask for more songs so I can get more riffs. However, these songs are epic and I never tire of them. Even if a song is 8-12-16 minutes long.

Pros: FUCK this music sounds good.

Cons: FUCK there are only 4 songs.

4.5 out of 5

Fav Tracks: The Culling, Was Only A Dream

Leave a Reply

